Back to Basics

So, despite the fact that the Mr. and I are most certainly, definitely on a hiatus from needles, dildocams and anything else that is sharp and stuck in places where the sun don’t shine, that doesn’t mean that we are eschewing all attempts to get in a family way.  We’re most definitely still ‘trying’.  Of course, ‘trying’ Old School.

image: ewitch

For the first time in over a year, I’ve broken out the thermometer for the morning basal temp and I’ve been charting the results. But, I’m not doing the OPKs and I’m so not doing the hide-the-cervix game.  I figure my cervix has earned the right to stay hidden and avoid molestation for a while.  The Mr. and I will also indulge in a little afternoon (or morning) delight depending upon the day, on days 12, 14, 16, 18 and 20.  We would do it on day 22, but he’ll be out of town.  He’ll start cutting back on caffeine and booze as will I.

I have conceived (somewhat) naturally before – with an IUI, so I know that egg and sperm can meet together.  Whether they will do anything is beyond my control, so the only thing I’m out is time, some good old fashioned lovin’ and maybe an el cheapo HPT.  That’s an investment I can do.

6 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. I very much applaud back to basics. If anything, it helps the psyche to believe that one could possibly get pregnant without 4 people in gowns and a long catheter in the room. Here’s a rousing “go get ’em” to you!

  2. You and me too. lol. It’s been a long time since we actually tried on our own. We’re winging it this month as well. What’s the worst that could happen? lol

  3. The basics are much more fun:) Certainly can’t hurt to put in the effort. If you want to add another “easy” thing into the mix, we had luck using preseed. It is simple, not gross, and just feels like a little extra somethin to help those little guys to their final destination.

    Have fun…

Leave a Reply

