Wanted: WordPress Assistance, Inquire Within

I have been pretty darn happy with WordPress since I moved over almost three months ago.  I love how clean and streamlined the themes are and how professional it looks.

What I don’t love, however, is what a F&^*ing difficult time I’m having with my header.  As you can see, I’ve switched themes from Misty Look to Cutline, which is all fine and dandy except one little thing: on Cutline, you are limited to a header of 770 x 140 pixels.  I’m sure you are still wondering what the problem is.

Pretty much since I started this blog, I have used this fabulous image:

John Singer Sargent, Nonchaloir (Repose), 1911

But, I don’t like how little of it you can actually see due to the 140 pixel restriction.  If I had my way, you would be able to see the whole thing, but I understand that restrictions are restrictions. So, my question to those of you with that technical gene that I am missing,

How do I resize my picture to get this:

and still meet those darn restrictions?

4 thoughts on “Wanted: WordPress Assistance, Inquire Within

  1. e-mail me the photo & your header measurements and I will resize it via photoshop for you.
    another option is to pay 10 bucks for an upgraded site that will allow you to have CSS edit ability. Then you can go in and change the header size in your template.

  2. It looks like Calliope may have already helped you, but I think when I’ve added headers to my WordPress themes, it will automatically let me choose which area of the picture to show if it’s not sized correctly. It’s a little bit quirky, it takes a few tries for me to get the little rectangle in the right spot, but I did eventually get it to work. I can explain better if you’d like. Let me know.

Leave a Reply

