Good Times

I realized this morning that there are quite a few things happening that make me happy. Since this is my blog and I can write about whatever I want, I’m going to list them in no particular order.  And, hopefully,  some of my quirky happiness will rub off on you, too.  There is never enough happiness in the world, after all.

  • I got my car washed using the gift certificate I bought from the neighbor’s kid to support the high school band program.  Good karma and a clean car = happy Mrs. X.
  • It’s Tocktober on CuteOverload.com, which means lots of pictures of adorable animal behinds.
  • It’s cold enough now that I was able to wear my fabulous red trench coat. And, I. Looked. Fabulous.
  • I took in the dry cleaning and will no longer have to be asked when I’m going to take it in. I was also able to use the $10 gift certificate that I got just for joining their rewards program.
  • I have a girl date tonight with a friend for dinner and a show.  Yay for girl dates!
  • Last night, I decided on two goals for work today and I’ve complete one and made major progress to finishing the other.  Checking items off the list = happy Mrs. X.
  • I finally cracked open the Atlantic magazine from (ack) January so that I can finish it and work my way up to the brand new issue that showed up in my mail box. 
  • I’m wearing the necklace my mom gave me, and it warms my little heart.
  • I’m getting great feedback on the first chapter of my book and I’m thinking that maybe I really can do this.
  • Mr. X and I had a very good and drawn out heart-to-heart yesterday about whether we still want to have kids (yes and yes) and how to find meaning and purpose in our lives now, without children as opposed to waiting until we have kids.  Getting it all out on the table = happy Mrs. X.

What made you happy today?

12 thoughts on “Good Times

  1. I’ve just been reading your chapter this evening and I’m thinking, yes you can do this, as well. Feedback to come!

    Mrs. X: thanks for the awesome feedback. I’ll respond soon!

  2. Oh, these are very good. I might have to post them next Perfect Moment Monday.

    Yay on your heart to heart. Those make me happy, too.

    Mrs. X: Thanks! There is nothing like having a good discussion with the person who matters most in your life.

  3. I’m happy that it’s Friday, and I am also happy that I am having a good hair day so far.

    And I’m happy that you’re happy!

    Mrs. X: I hope your good hair day lasted all the way through!

  4. What made me happy today?

    Your blog.

    So many ups and downs in this TTC life, it’s always good to see some up.

    Mrs. X: Aww. Thanks. That made my day. Seriously. And, I totally agree that it is important to highlight the good even if we are in the bad.

  5. What makes me happy… I’ll have to get back to you on that.

    In the meantime though… I love the idea of your red trench coat. I used to have a lovely green one. Oh, how I miss it.

    I have at least five different trench coats and they make me very, very chic and happy. I highly recommend finding a replacement for the green one!

  6. Today’s goods: acupuncture, invested in an IRA (hey, Buffet’s buying, and so are we, damn it!), had some good soup, learned some cool words in Mongolian–did you know they have a special word for a camel bridle?

    Yeah, I know, I’m easily amused.

    Mrs. X: amazingly, my widespread and costly education did not include the fact that there is a word in Mongolian for camel bridle. And, it did not stop me from reading too quickly and thinking that you said “camel bride”. That would have been something.

  7. What made me happy today:
    The fact that it’s Friday & now the weekend. : )
    The stash of Lindor chocolate Halloween balls in my desk drawer at work. ; )
    Leaving work after a ridiculously busy day.
    The new red Tshirt I was wearing.
    Reading your blog. ; )

    P.S. We should compare magazine piles. I have a huge backlog too.

    Mrs. X: those are all wonderful reasons to be happy! As for the magazine pile, the stack is Atlantic magazines from January through the present and New York magainzes from about a month and a half ago. Unfortunately, that one is a weekly!

  8. Okay, I’m jealous about the red trench coat because it still isn’t cold enough here to justify them!

    Mrs. X: shall I make you more jealous by telling you that I got to wear it again today? Nah, I wouldn’t do that to you.

  9. listening to madonna while i got my classroom ready for the day, even though i had to cut my alone time short since it started to rain and the kiddies had to come in early.

    i’m also happy that my class understood the concept of “greater than” and “less than.”

    lastly, that i got to wear my very cute red coat today. i’m always happy when i get to wear it anywhere.

    Mrs. X: another vote for a red coat! Yay for red coats (er, just realized how that looks for Americans.)

Leave a Reply

