Miss November

This evening, G and I hosted eight of the neighborhood ladies for Bunco.  There was much shrieking, drinking and noshing of the healthy and not so-healthy dining options I provided.  The kitties were banished to the laundry room because they would be underfoot and underhand stealing food at any given opportunity.  Well, actually, only one, The Bad One, would be guilty of this.  Fluffy would likely curl up on the couch and snooze.  But, I wanted them to keep each other company, so Fluffy was banished too.

sewpixieThis go round was much better than when I last hosted Bunco.  I hosted in February, right after I found out I was pregnant.  I was already nervouse about that.  I also decided that I was going to cook everything, so I spent a ridiculous amount of time whipping together items only some of which were even touched.  And, about half way through the evening, I thought I had begun to spot.  So, I had a minor freak out in the bathroom.  At the end, I also wasn’t very tired, which made me even more nervous.  I wasn’t able to enjoy it at all.

So, when the usual Miss November sent an email earlier this month flatly stating that there was no way she could host this month, I jumped on the chance to switch months with her so that I could wash away the bad karma of February bunco. 

And, I’m so pleased to report that it worked.  A good time was had by all. G was an angel and everyone just loved petting him and remarking how well-behaved he was.  He is now enjoying a well-deserved conk-out on his new doggie bed.  I got to have some fabulous cheese, wine and the cupcakes that I bought that have been tempting me in the fridge since Friday.  As if that wasn’t enough: I won $5. Not bad for a Monday.

image: SewPixie

2 thoughts on “Miss November

  1. Sounds like a great start to the week!

    I’m hosting my 16 player Bunco group in January…most everyone eats dinner before (everyone but me is retired or doesn’t work outside the home) and it’s BYOB, so the food/drink prep isn’t so bad. It’s the cleaning beforehand to make sure there aren’t any errant dust-kitties (or dust, period) that kills me.

    Mrs. X: 16 players! We have 12 max. I can’t imagine 15 people in my house at one time. I think BYOB would kill ours. We’re all lushes who show up for the free booze.

Leave a Reply

