A Milestone, of Sorts

Today, I held a 6 month old baby. And I really, really liked it.  I had no trouble talking with her mama and felt very few pangs of jealousy.  I was really dreading this visit, too. It was with my best friend and her husband and was our first time to meet the baby.  I thought I would be overcome with jealousy and other socially unacceptable feelings.

But, you know what?  I breezed through, like a ship on a calm day.  I enjoyed myself, I held the baby and played with her. And, then I very happily gave her back to her mother when she started fussing. 

To say that I am proud of myself is an understatement.  I confronted my worst fear head on, and I came out sparkling on the other side. I can’t wait to see them again.

5 thoughts on “A Milestone, of Sorts

  1. That’s an accomplishment, for sure! You have an uncommon courage, my friend. It will be a loooong time before I am even close to thinking about doing that. I hope your friend realizes what a special person you are.

    Erin

    Mrs. X: I wasn’t always this way. It took a while, and a lot of growing pains.

  2. That is *definitely* worth celebrating! I think our worlds expand when the things we’ve dreaded the most no longer have power over us. It’s like a new-found freedom.

    Mrs. X: it is a wonderful feeling, for sure.

  3. Good for you! It’s amazing how sometimes the things we think will set us off just don’t.

    Mrs. X: I can’t decide which is worse – when the thing that we expect doesn’t happen, or when the thing we don’t expect, do happen.

  4. Wow. Well done you. That must have been a challenge but you dealt with it in your amazing way – head on and with incredible bravery.

    Mrs. X: thanks for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

