So Engaging

While we were dining at my parents’ house on Saturday night, I noticed a distinctly different feeling… down there.  Call it pelvic pressure, call it baby breakdancing on my cervix, I had a pretty good idea of what was going on: Little B has begun to make his final descent into My Pelvis Airport.  I had read about lightening, but it was always in that amorphous later portion of pregnancy that I would get to at some unknown point in the future.  That unknown point has apparently arrived.

Of course, this means that we are getting a little bit closer to D-Day, still not knowing exactly when that will be.  The part of me that would like my body back is close to being ready. The rest of me is not.

Still, everytime he sends shockwaves down my hoohah, I imagine some perky flight attendant in my uterus with the on board PA system chirping about tray tables in their upright and locked position and seat backs fully upright.  Hopefully, they also covered the importance of keeping arms and legs inside the cabin at all times during final descent. Otherwise, it could be ugly.

8 thoughts on “So Engaging

  1. Funny how what you read never really truly describes that which you actually experience…I’m glad that the final descent has begun, and am praying for a safe and easy delivery of Little B into the big, wide terminal that is the world.

    Oh…at least he’s only dancing on the cervix and not your sciatic nerve…that one’s really a doozy! 😀

  2. Why in the world they call it lightening, is completely beyond me. To me it always felt like they gained 14 pounds in those last weeks.

    Your vivid descriptions have taken me back to that first ever kick to the cervix. I was afraid I’d find an arm sticking out when I went to the bathroom. Gah!

  3. Lightening – I called it bouncing as Lady G used my pelvic floor as her own personal jumpy castle. Very exciting! Home stretch – can’t wait to hear how it all goes!

  4. So glad he’s engaging. My girl was clinging by her toes to my rib cage – I think at one point she may have been banging her skull against my lower back, but that’s as close as she ever came to the proper exit! Much luck – any time now….

Leave a Reply

