It’s Time

As we’ve gotten closer to term, I gave some thought to induction but figured that it would only be an option once we get past a due date with no progress.  What I didn’t factor in was the possibility of a not-so-overdue, but rather gargantuan baby.

The estimate from yesterday’s ultrasound was a whopping 8lbs 12 oz.  The doctor did tell me that there is a 20% swing in either direction meaning he could either be on the heavy side of 7lbs or on the really heavy side of 9lbs.  Either way, I say oof.  I may have child-bearing hips, but I don’t know if they are up for the challenge of passing a possibly almost 10 lb bowling ball.  So, we decided to pull the trigger right at 40 weeks before he got any bigger and my chances of a c-section increase.  As it is, my chances are at about 20-30% because of my cervix, which is neither favorable nor unfavorable.

So, tomorrow at 5am, we present ourselves at the hospital for induction.

It’s time.

21 thoughts on “It’s Time

  1. How exciting – good luck, I hope it all goes wonderfully! And for the sake of your hips (and the rest of your anatomy) — hope that the weight is an over-estimate.

  2. I am hoping you have an awesome and safe birth with no complications and NO tearing. If anything does happen though, feel free to email me to ask for all my hints at coping and recovering from a birth that does more to your body than you were planning on. I am becoming rather an expert in that department these days. That being said, I am totally hoping and wishing that you have the Perfect birth with a perfect baby and perfect recovery. After all you have gone through, I just want you to have joy and the chance to take it easy for once. I am so excited for you. Good luck, and many blessings as you add a wiggly and cuddly addition to your family. I wish we could see pictures of this adorable wee one, but we’ll just imagine how beautiful this new little life is.

  3. Wow, it’s time? This is so exciting! I’ll be sending lots of good thoughts, good vibes, and good Irish luck (it is St. Patrick’s Day, after all) to you, Baby X, and Mr. X tomorrow. Best wishes!

  4. Oh my goodness. Best of luck my love… You deserve to come home with a helathy baby. Here’s to a nice boring birth with no complications and a beautiful boy at the end of it!!
    Best of luck again…
    xx Emma

  5. Oh, Mrs. X! While I may never understand your desire to have a baby, I am so completely & utterly thrilled that you are finally able to do so.

    Safe delivery to all of you.

  6. So exciting! I’ve heard that bigger babies are often easier to birth because of gravity.
    Sounds like you have a very healthy happy little boy waiting to arrive

    B x

  7. Good luck! I hope you have a smooth, fast and easy delivery. Can’t wait to follow along as you start along the next phase of this totally cool journey.

    (and, fwiw, when I was 37 weeks with E, they told me she weighed 8 3/4 pounds already and would probably weigh 10 lbs if she went to 40 weeks. She was born at 40.5 weeks weighing exactly 8 lbs.)

  8. I’m the poster girl for induction and I hope and pray that all will be wonderful for you, Mr. X, and Lil’ X.

    As soon as I hear all’s well, I’m sending you baby stuff.

    Love and hugs as you start the next exciting leg of the journey…

  9. Late to the party, but hoping everything went well, and you’re well, tired but happy with your new family right now!

  10. Phew! Late to the party too, but I was busy having my own baby girl Wednesday…hoping and praying everything went well, and that you’re recuperating nicely with a bouncing (but not too large) baby boy…can’t wait for the next installment!

Leave a Reply

