Choose Your Own Blog Adventure

Did you ever read those Choose Your Own Adventure books in middle school?  I did.  I couldn’t resist even though my parents didn’t consider them to be “good” reading – meaning reading that would help my language skills.  Unfortunately, the novelty wore off pretty quickly once I realized that they all had basically the same plot over and over and over again.  I also discovered Judy Blume’s more age-appropriate fare and moved on to Are You There God? It’s Me Margaret.

I thought of them the other day as I pondered – likely at a 2am feeding, I honestly don’t remember – what to do with this here blog.  I see two possible paths: if you want to continue writing on this blog, turn to page 4.  If you want to start a new blog, turn to page 8.

The thing is, I can’t decide.  Part of me wants to make a clean break, start fresh now that we have embarked on parenthood.  This blog was designed to document our infertility journey and for now, that journey is over.  Part of me thinks that it would be inappropriate to continue documenting our journey in parenthood on this blog.

On the other hand, this blog has meant a lot to me and to a lot of other people.  I wouldn’t delete it – it would stay up for all to see, but part of me cannot imagine not having this blog.

So, I’m putting it to a vote.  Help me decide what to do!

UPDATED: the ayes have it. I’m going to stick around here. Thanks for voting!

5 thoughts on “Choose Your Own Blog Adventure

  1. I totally get the desire to move, but I voted for staying put. Your IF history is part of your story as a parent and I think it’s helpful for those still struggling to see your happy transition into parenthood. Maybe a new title or layout to give it a new feel, without totaly changing?

  2. please stay here. i really like reading IF blogs that become baby blogs (or blogs with babies, anyway), because they give me hope. just plain blogs with babies? well, i’d probably read yours, ’cause you’re smart and funny, but in general i don’t dig ’em.

  3. I think you should start a brand new blog (but give us the details when you move of course!)
    Hope you are getting lots of rest and time to enjoy your little boy through the fug of sleep deprivation. The first 3 months are so tough on us mummies wonderful though they are… B x

  4. I debated about the same thing but decided that the journey was so much a part of the whole..I may give the page a facelift at some point but — I stayed put.

    I understand the dilemma!

    Congratulations by the way…

    🙂

Leave a Reply

