I Resolve To Not Resolve

I’ve never been one for New Year’s resolutions.  I’m happy if I can make it through any given year relatively intact, sane and with hair where I want it and not where I don’t.  Bonus points if I had a great time at least most of the year and can still fit in the same clothes.

Via Creative Commons by rachelnwonderland

January is usually not the time that I want to try to something new, get healthy, change myself or do anything proactive because frankly, Thanksgiving through Christmas exhausts me.  In January, I want normalcy again, I want 9-5, Monday through Friday with no mail or daycare holidays.  I want BORING and ho hum.  I do not want new year, new me.  I mostly like the old me.  Sure, there are some rough edges, but I’m not a serial killer, I pay my taxes and I drive safely. What more does society want out of me?

Besides, I’ve been around myself long enough to know that if I truly want to do something, I will do it.  It might not get done immediately, or without drama.  It might not even be done right, but it will be done.  Right now, the only thing I want to do is play Angry Birds, ponder getting some ankle boots and snuggle with my boys.

A good year does not have to be one of momentous change or renovation.  A good year can be as simple as a giggle a day from Rex, waking up each day with my best friend with benefits, and sharing good company and wine.

I would not, however, say no to winning the lottery.  You should resolve to buy me a ticket.

Leave a Reply

