Go Fish

My cell phone rang yesterday afternoon as I was on my work line with Mr. X. I had just been talking with him about hard it was to wait for the FISH results from our amnio. Like a predictable novel, it was of course the MFM’s office.

This time, it was the nurse who gave us the results of the FISH analysis: Normal, blessedly normal.  She of course immediately harshed on my mellow by warning me that these were preliminary.  I did remember, however, from our conversation with the MFM at Monday’s amnio that FISH is pretty darn accurate and the false rate is very low.  I later found literature that put the false negative rate at 1%. 

We still wait for the final amnio results, but we are grateful for this encouraging news.

ps – yes, we did find out the gender. And, sorry, I’m not ready to divulge. I’m enjoying having that little secret amongst us and the parentals for now.

18 thoughts on “Go Fish

  1. Such good news! I hope you are able to relax and enjoy the rest of your pregnancy. I can’t wait to find out more about your little one and your reactions to mid and late pregnancy and motherhood. Nine months after the birth of my little boy and i’m still catching my breath. The arrival of our much wanted and long awaited Adam was the most awesome thing I have ever experienced and continues to blow my mind on a daily basis.

    B x

Leave a Reply

